OddFix

Odd things, daily.

Artist takes loads of drugs, draws self

Washington D.C. artist Bryan Lewis Saunders draws self-portraits while on a variety of different substances such as cocaine, crystal meth and bath salts. 

Saunders’ explains that he got the idea for his project, entitled DRUGS, “after experiencing drastic changes in my environment.” He said, “I looked for other experiences that might profoundly affect my perception of the self. So I devised another experiment where every day I took a different drug and drew myself under the influence. Within weeks I became lethargic and suffered mild brain damage.”

Cocaine 

Crystal Meth 

Absinth 

Adderall 

Of all the substances Saunders’ has experimented with, he said that bath salts gave him the worst trip. “It made me angry, ornery, just gave me a real vicious angst,” he explained. “It’s like a dark cloud of doom settling on your shoulders. Your brain gets really clogged. You just want it to end.”


Bath salts 

Is it just me, or does the “bath salts” version of Saunders look exactly like Sloth from “The Goonies”?

His project is still very much a work in progress. There are still substances he hasn’t tried, such as heroin and crack. “I’d love to do a self-portrait on crack,” Saunders said. “I’ve never done it. It seems a shame there’s no crack self-portrait.”

4 comments on “Artist takes loads of drugs, draws self

  1. Torre DeRoche (@FearfulGirl)
    October 25, 2012

    “Rocky roaaaaaad?” (Great post.)

  2. Pingback: ODDLIST: The best of 2012 « OddFix

  3. Monica
    February 7, 2013

    Bath salts helped me flnaily quit drinking coffee. Now im going to grind the curbs outside starbucks and flip off those gypsy sons of bitches.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2012 by in Weird people.

Join 246 other followers

Categories

