OddFix

Odd things, daily.

Pregnant woman eats roadkill

Ever since falling pregnant, 42-year-old North Yorkshire woman Alison Brierley, has been craving the taste of roadkill. “The first time I picked something up was when I drove past a perfectly good pheasant,” Alison explained. “I stopped and I thought ‘I’m going to eat this’.” 

Since then, she has eaten hare, deer, pigeon, rabbit and owls, all found dead on the side of the road. She has a strong desire to try fox and badger, but each specimen she has found so far has been too flattened. She even hosts dinner parties for her friends, where she serves exclusively roadkill meat. “They trust me and know I’m a good cook,” Alison says of her friends. “I get the best meat from friends who ring me up and tell me about a kill they’ve spotted on their way to work.”

It’s not surprising Alison’s body is craving the natural iron found in red meat, on account the pregnancy and her age, but her cravings are specific to roadkill. So why not supermarket meat? Alison explains, “I don’t have to feel guilty about eating it because I know it’s had a completely free range and natural life.”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2012 by in Weird nature, Weird people.

Join 246 other followers

Categories

